The best Halloween ever…

I love Halloween. It’s really my favorite ‘holiday’ of the year. I think it’s because I love dressing up and getting into a roll, or at least the idea of it. I haven’t ever really had the opportunity to completely indulge my whims in that direction. This year though I kind of lost my Halloween spirit. I didn’t want to decorate, didn’t want to bother with a costume, I didn’t even buy any candy! My daughter was going to be out, as usual, and my son was more interested in playing video games than trick or treating. So I was just going to skip it this year. Then my new group of friends invited me over for a costume poker party.

Storm and I played poker with this group several times while she was here and they have become really good friends. They are all so much fun to hang out with. After Storm left there were a few weekends that no games were planned due to illness and travel plans and such. But last week I went alone and we played poker and watched football and had a great time. My daughter thought it was great and sent a mass text that her mother was going to go play poker and watch football with a bunch of lesbians. Everyone knows I don’t do football….hehe. That was when the halloween party was brought up and enthusiastically embraced by all. Well, almost all. I was still not quite in the spirit.

Comes Friday, the day before Halloween and I still had no idea what kind of costume to wear. I am on a limited budget and not in a position to go and buy one. So I gave my creative bone a tweak and got in gear. I ended up looking like some dark ghoul. Wild hair, dark makeup, long black nails and swathed in black cloth. It worked.

I arrived to a spookily decorated house, good food and fantastic company all done up in various costumes. We played a game of poker and then we decided to go down to the local gay bar and check out their costume party. I was a DD since I hadn’t been drinking and we headed out. The place was packed!! Parking was difficult and finding a table inside was worse. It was almost standing room only! We did manage to find a tiny table in the back near the pool tables but it wasn’t big enough for all eight of us. But as luck would have it near by was a larger table that came vacant just about then. We nabbed it!

I was having the best time! The atmosphere was charged with so much energy, there wa laughter and joking and so many people to watch and costumes to admire. When I go out I don’t need to drink. I get such a charge just from soaking up all the energy in the room. And being out with this group of ladies made it even more exciting. I love these people! We stayed for a few hours and then went back to play even more poker. Our numbers had dwindled by then. The other car load of people had decided to call it a night. So our last poker game of the night was only between four of us, while two sat out. I was starting to get tired by this point so I was surprised to come in second and win my buy in back. There were hugs all around and talk of getting another game together soon and I headed home.

It was nearly 3 am by the time I got in!! I never stay out that late. Not even when I was younger. I could barely walk when I got home and parked and the next morning I felt like I had danced all night. I was sore!! But I’d do it again, it was so worth it!!

So here we are…the gouls and I. That’s me on the far left.

halloween 2009

One response to “The best Halloween ever…

Leave a comment